Lovin’ Spoonful 4, 5, 6 and 7

Lovin' Spoonful 4

 

What I am lovin’ most about this series is the fact that I started with quilting patterns, then added colour to make them applique blocks.

Now I have a collection of mix and match block and quilting designs to play with.

Why didn’t I think of this years ago!

Lovin' Spoonful 5

This is the same quilt top as the first design I added yesterday … with three different quilting options!

Lovin' Spoonful 6

In the design above I even added an extra layer of quilting designs so I could use the string of ovals border over a seam line, but I only used the corners of the outer row.

Lovin' Spoonful 7

But the outer row can still be used even when it is overlapped by the extra layer of blocks on Layer 3 … and this last one is the one I would choose … at least until I design another one I like and get the quilting just right!

Now, what if … I swap techniques … quilt the applique, and applique the quilting pattern?

PS

I support the use of stippling, and the areas left un-quilted in the virtual design above I would fill in with stippling in a matching thread.

All I would want to do is flatten the spaces between the featured quilting, not add another pretty design to the overall quilt, and stippling is the most boring design to look at in an overall view of the quilt.

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Lovin' Spoonful and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Lovin’ Spoonful 4, 5, 6 and 7

  1. The last one is absolutely stunning!!!!

    Like

  2. Glynis says:

    I love that first quilt!

    Like

  3. My favorites here are the first and the last designs. What an elegant series!

    I know stippling isn’t very popular right now, but it remains one of my favorite, or maybe most favorite, fillers.

    Like

    • Laura,

      I love stippling as a filler … for a while it was used as a design for the whole quilt, but used to just fill in the blank spots with something which doesn’t compete with the pieced, applique and even quilted features, it is perfect. I think feathers replaced stippling as the over used filler, but I really think feathers should be used as features, never as fillers.

      Judy B

      On 31 March 2015 at 13:02, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Marie says:

    I actually managed to have 3 days off down at my Grandpa’s shack, so I nearly missed the original Lovin’ Spoonful history. I think it’s a beautiful design and only you could create so much out of so little! I love the quilts you have designed today.

    Like

    • Marie,

      Thank you … I am still having fun with the Lovin’ Spoonful … tidying up the blocks and the matching quilting patterns, the resulting blocks are all changed in some way since the original, and more have been added.The spoon is the best single inspiration I have ever found!

      Judy B

      On 3 April 2015 at 06:23, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

Comments are closed.