Black and Gold 5 and 6

Black and Gold 5

I find the more I play with quilting designs, the more they look like my quilt designs but without the applique and quilting.

The same type of designs appeal with or without additional colour.

I am designing quilting block by block, like I do the pieced and applique quilt top, and modifying the design by adding and taking away lines of quilting.

Black and Gold 6

 

The biggest difference is that changes within the block design can translate an elaborate filler design into a stand alone motif … though that is really not that much different to what I do with a pieced or applique block, sometimes by modifying the block design … sometimes by just modifying the contrast.

Working block by block makes designing a whole cloth quilt much less daunting!

It does mean that after just a few months of concentrating on quilting lines I have dozens of whole cloth designs … and it is getting more a more difficult to pick just one.

Then there is the problem of choosing the fabric, the colour as well as the feel of it, and the colour of the thread, and if it should be a strong contrast, or matching, or somewhere in between. Or perhaps more than one colour!

I have reached the conclusion, at this point, that a contrast like that above is my preference, and if some areas need additional background fill I would use a thread which would disappear on the background fabric.

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Black and Gold and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Black and Gold 5 and 6

  1. Fun to see your wholecloth designs coming together!

    Like

    • Laura,

      Thank you … I am trying not to get too distracted by playing with whole cloth designs as I really want to get a bigger library of quilting designs to play with!

      Judy B

      On 29 March 2015 at 07:38, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

Comments are closed.