Quilting Thread and Beads 1

String of Beads

We had a long weekend here in South Australia, and there was a golf tournament to keep the man of the house out of the house for the three days.

I spent a lot of the time he was gone virtually playing with fabric beads on a plain(ish) background, then turning the results into quilting designs.

String of Beads is a design which was popular during the 1930s, and has to be one of the most versatile designs ever. Well, the original design was just one block, the versatile bit is the little leaf shape beads used in that design. I fell in love with a small black and white photo in a book many moons ago, and started scribbling designs, eventually adapted fusible webbing to use instead of needleturned applique and made a couple of real projects, but he scribbles continued.

I wanted to concentrate on where the beads were placed rather than fuss with fabric choices, so went looking for a fabric in my EQ stash which might look like I had used scraps. I would like to add more fabrics, but there are many, many blocks to get into my EQ library before I will allow myself to play with fabrics. Click the pics for a closer look at the fabric.

However, I did allow myself to start a new project file to male use of a few of the blocks, just to show off!

Quilting Thread and Beads 1

The border is a bit big, though there is a possibility that I might just add some of the fabric beads, or some quilting lines in the future.

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Quilting Thread and Beads, String of Beads and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Quilting Thread and Beads 1

  1. So pretty! That sure would be a quilting challenge!

    Like

    • Jennifer,

      Not as hard as it looks … though it does need a couple of little tweaks. I am trying to adjust my thinking from hand quilting and being able to hide the thread from one row to the next by going between layers, to thinking in a continuous line to avoid having to tie off.

      Judy B

      On 10 March 2015 at 21:39, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

  2. Gorgeous. Machine quilting in a continuous line is definitely possible with this type of pattern. Love the colors!

    Like

    • Cindy,

      Thank you … and yes, continuous line quilting is possible because I have appliqued strings in a continuous line.

      Judy B

      On 16 March 2015 at 03:10, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

  3. Pingback: Felicity Anderson Quilts 18 | Virtual Quilter

Comments are closed.