9 Patch ‘n’ Apps Centered 3

9 Patch 'n' Apps Centrerd 3

 

Love it.

Love the low contrast change in the background fabric, and the low contrast filler blocks in the corners.

(The corner block designs could be used as just quilting motifs … using contrast threads for the motifs, and matching thread for all other quilting, and the result will be rather similar.)

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in 9 Patch 'n' Apps and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 9 Patch ‘n’ Apps Centered 3

  1. I love the idea of the corner block done in contrasting quilting thread rather than as an actual applique block. I am going to keep that idea percolating on the back burner until I find a quilt I want to do it on. I also love the stars around the center medallion. Gorgeous!

    Like

    • Cindy,

      It sounds interesting … it came to mind because i am looking at my applique designs for inspiration for quilting designs … and instead of drawing new designs I am using the applique designs pretty much as they are. Pieced blocks too!

      Judy B

      On 1 March 2015 at 12:32, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

  2. Ditto what Cindy says…gorgeous quilt design! I’m not crazy about the borders but I do love everything else about the design, including the idea of quilting the corner blocks rather than applique.

    Like

    • Laura,

      I usually add a couple of strips around a design then forget about it while I play with the centre design area. I agree this one could use some more thought … just changing the fabric choice would help, but I think the widths of the strips could also use some work.

      Then of course, I could add a pieced or applique border or two!

      Judy B

      On 1 March 2015 at 15:31, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

  3. Marie says:

    Very unusual, I like it. Love the combination of the different blocks. And, yes, I agree with Cindy’s comment about the stars around the centre medallion, very effective!

    Like

    • Marie,

      Thank you … I don’t think I was very impressed with the change of background colour at the time I designed this one, but I took notice when I found it again a couple of days ago! The brain must have needed time to comprehend what I had done!

      Judy B

      On 2 March 2015 at 06:19, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

Comments are closed.