Virtual Wholecloth Sirius 5

Virtual Wholecloth Sirius 5

A comparatively simple whole cloth quilt design … but I think it would look OK.

If nothing else, even with low contrast thread colour the design is easier to see than in a lot of  photos of whole cloth quilts,

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Virtual Wholecloth and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Virtual Wholecloth Sirius 5

  1. I love wholecloth and swear that one day I am going to make one. Nice design. It truly amazes me how much EQ7 can do (with your imagination behind it).

    Like

    • Cindy,

      I think the hardest part of doing a whole cloth would be the design … such a big expanse of fabric to start work on! What style do I want, over the top or simple? Matching thread or subtle contrast, or black on white? And even what colour whole cloth! And we think choosing a design and a handful of fabrics for a patchwork quilt hard!

      Judy B

      Virtual Quilter https://virtualquilter.wordpress.com

      On 22 February 2015 at 23:30, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

      • Nola says:

        I really like the tone on tone effect of this quilt design. A good concept for blocks and applique too. Well done Judy. x

        Like

        • Nola,

          I have been looking at this and some other designs I have done, and in future will select thread for background fillers to very closely match the fabric, but use at least a few shades darker, or maybe lighter, for the bits I want to show up more. Density of stitching makes a difference, and can be a great design element too, and combining that with thread colour is probably a science all in itself!

          Judy B

          On 23 February 2015 at 17:51, Virtual Quilter wrote:

          >

          Like

  2. Marie says:

    I like that one. Nice design. I have always thought of making a wholecloth quilt as well, but just never seem to have got around to it.

    Like

    • Marie,

      Thank you …. and I will copy what I said in reply to Cindy ….

      I think the hardest part of doing a whole cloth would be the design … such a big expanse of fabric to start work on! What style do I want, over the top or simple? Matching thread or subtle contrast, or black on white? And even what colour whole cloth! And we think choosing a design and a handful of fabrics for a patchwork quilt hard!

      Judy B

      Virtual Quilter https://virtualquilter.wordpress.com

      On 23 February 2015 at 06:16, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

Comments are closed.