Quilting Block Library Introduction

Quilting Block Library 1

I am on a campaign to increase the number of quilting motifs I have in My Library to add to blank spaces in designs.

I am going to go through my pieced block library and see if some of the designs will work as quilting motifs.

The one above was the first to get a makeover … with some of the construction seam lines removed to leave the basic elements of the block as an applique design, but without colour.

It works for me!

Quilting Block Library 2

Another variation of the block had extra points … works as a quilting motif too.

Quilting Block Library 3

What if I use a filler in the background space?

Oops, forgot the outline of the block

Quilting Block Library 4

Think I prefer it without the outline anyway!

Quilting Block Library 5

What if I mix the variations up a bit … and remove some of the background filler?

Quilting Block Library 6

What if I add the original block to the quilt top?

This is the start of another level of my favourite game!

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Quilting Block Library and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Quilting Block Library Introduction

  1. Lovin’ this ‘what if’ game!

    Like

    • Laura,

      it is a great game to play in conjunction with EQ because the results are there in front of me with just a few clicks of the mouse!

      Judy B

      On 13 February 2015 at 14:06, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

  2. Jude says:

    Sorry Judy, but I think that it would be better to add real quilting!, but of course then you need to make a real quilt first….

    Like

    • Jude,

      Thank you … yes, the real quilt would hold me up a bit! But boy, am I ever learning about what block designs may work on the real deal, and ones which certainly won’t.

      Sometime I will have to concentrate on continuous line designs for you machine gurus I suppose!

      Judy B

      On 13 February 2015 at 15:26, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

  3. Oh My Goodness. It looks like we are all in for some wonderful designs and ideas! Love the way your mind works. I cannot believe how many different designs you come up with and how small changes make such a difference! Love the last one and love the “what if” game!!!!!!

    Like

    • Cindy,

      It is those small changes which often make or break a design … and what works this time may not work next time!

      Judy B

      On 14 February 2015 at 13:25, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

Comments are closed.