Mosaic Tiles

Yesterday was hot, so I retreated from the outside world and played with a block from the Electric Quilt Block Library. I actually started this play session when I used EQ5 … and the first two blocks in the first section of designs come straight from EQ5.

Mosaic in Patches 1

At the time I was trying my hand at drawing applique blocks, and I found the best way for me to learn was to try changing designs already in the library rather than start with a blank square.

I would open a library block, and ask the question … What if I move this bit, change that bit … straighten that bit up a bit?

Between EQ5 and EQ7 the program gained some great new drawing tools, allowing for pin point accuracy, and they had made use of the tools in the library collection. They were still the same designs, but drawn much more neatly.

The first pile of virtual blocks are the results of my play, along with the much neater Mosaic block from the EQ7 Library.

Mosaic in Patches 2

The next two piles are from my play session yesterday. The much improved tools have helped me produce a lot of blocks in a couple of hours, and I have saved them all to show you here, but will go through them and remove a lot of the repetitive ones.

Mosaic in Patches 3

Some of the blocks perhaps would be better as quilting patterns rather than as applique designs.

Some are improved by turning them on point, some lose what I like about them when I rotate them. I sometimes use both straight and on point variations in a quilt design, so it is always worth rotating them to see what they look like.

Mosaic in Patches 4

The best find for me was another accident … I copied the centre part of the EQ7 block with the intention of pasting it into a new motif, and instead opened the EQ5 version of the same block.

(My only excuse is that we had a short downpour of rain in the middle of a very hot day … it lasted all of 30 seconds, but it was a momentary distraction. The driveway was so hot the rain had evaporated before I realized I had made a mistake!)

Mosaic in Patches 5

 

Little bits showed around the outside of the new pieces and I added some colour and asked that question again … what if?

In this case, what if I used two copies of the good one and offset one? Oh, and remove the inner section of the one behind creating the shadow.

Mosaic with Shadow 1

Light from the side … I can use the rotate tool to move the light around to the other side and top and bottom.

Mosaic with Shadow 1

Light from a corner!

All that twisting and turning and I will keep just a few variations of the Mosaic block, but I know that the last two will be among them! And how well will it work with other blocks? More playtime required!

So I had to try a few variations with the size of the applique, and the size of the shadow, and then use one variation in a virtual quilt.

And if you look closely at today’s virtual quilt design (which will appear in the next post) you will see that the tiny little blip in the corner of the original block has been modified to use as a quilting pattern in the block corners.

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Behind the Scenes. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Mosaic Tiles

  1. Very inspiring Judy!

    Like

  2. Chris says:

    It was meant to be! Do you ever make any of your designs?

    Like

    • Chris,

      Not the ones I share!

      I love playing computer games, and Electric Quilt is the best game around for me.

      When I first started using a computer to design quilts I used them to design what I already had in my head … and wanted some accurate patterns to use. Then I got hooked on designing when I wanted time out from the sewing machine and quilt hoop … and instead of playing patience I designed quilts. It has been wonderful when I lost my sewing room under household goods when my Dad sold his house … it has taken two years to find the cutting table again!

      I still have UFOs I was making just as pattern and class samples … they get worked on at retreats … and when I thought I had finished with them I would give them away. That was the point where somebody would want me to teach the class again! Now I only start new projects for real people … or to try out a new technique.

      So I guess I have two version of quilt addiction … real and virtual. I keep learning from both!

      Judy B

      On 8 February 2015 at 14:36, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

  3. Marie says:

    The last ones are like 3 dimensional, very clever. Choices, choices, it must be mind boggling sometimes. Sounds like you have fun tho’ I enjoy viewing your designs.

    Like

    • Marie,

      The shadow is easy to do … since I found out how by accident!

      I am glad I stopped thinking I had to make every quilt I designed. Ten years ago I was making quilts which had no purpose except to be samples for classes and patterns. I usually found a home for them, but then needed them back to take to a class, etc.

      With virtual quilts I get to share the designs and keep the design to play with again and again! I still have some of those real projects in UFO pile … probably enough to keep me occupied at retreats for the rest of my life!

      Judy B

      On 9 February 2015 at 06:46, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

  4. How neat. The shadows add so much dimension. Your “mistakes” are truly inspired!

    Like

    • Cindy,

      The shadows deserve to be explored and I am now wondering just how many blocks will allow me to add a shadow!

      Judy B

      On 9 February 2015 at 07:01, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

Comments are closed.