Log Cabin 51, 52, 53, 54 and 55

Log Cabin 51

From a new series to an old one.

Each of these designs use exactly the same blocks as my favourite Log Cabin variations, Barnraising.

Log Cabin 52

Just  few twists and turns and you could have something just a little bit different.

Log Cabin 53

I am tempted to change the colours in this series, but to be honest, I would rather play with new stuff.

Log Cabin 54

However, I do still want to remind you that the good old designs can be changed  … and if I do want to waste an hour or two I will select some new fabrics and see how far I get!

Log Cabin 55

After all, this series would be the easiest of all the Log Cabin series to change because all the blocks are the same and so it is a matter of holding down the control key to change all the blocks with one click …  but it would be just plain old boring after the first three or four!

Remembering to change the borders too would be the hard part!

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Log Cabin, Log Cabin Quilts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Log Cabin 51, 52, 53, 54 and 55

  1. Marie says:

    Is it difficult to change the colour scheme on EQ7? One or two coffees? I suppose as long as lights and darks are correct is doesn’t matter. So many choices.

    Like

    • Marie,

      It is easy … one coffee easy … but there are lots of designs in the folder to change. I have to admit that this is one of the easy projects files to change, but is is one of those dead boring jobs which if I wasn’t brain dead before I started I would be by the time I finished!

      Judy B

      On 29 January 2015 at 06:09, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

  2. Oh but how we appreciate the effort! I am constantly amazed at how many different ways you can lay out log cabin blocks and with the coloring being 1/2 light and 1/2 dark they all also work for plain old halfsquare triangles when you need a quick quilt.

    Like

    • Cindy,

      They do work as well, and even better sometimes, with half square triangles. Something I have pretty much resisted doing so far is to have some red and white and some blue and white blocks … or any other three or even four colour combination of Log Cabin blocks. Probably every layout I have in this project file could be recoloured three or four different ways and still be effective.

      Judy B

      On 3 February 2015 at 03:29, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

Comments are closed.