White on Dark Sampler 1, 2 , 3 and 4, plus the blocks

White on Dark Sampler 1

I loved the almost white on gold, but had to try it on some other colours too.

It wasn’t until I went to dark fabrics that I found some I liked as much as the gold.

White on Dark Sampler 2

So here are three very similar designs on blue, green and red backgrounds. I like them all, and I don’t like blue except above me when I am outdoors.

White on Dark Sampler 3

I could live with the green most of the time, but use the red during the Christmas season … or maybe the gold!

White on Dark Sampler 4

Then I tried adding another colour … but stopped there!

Here is a look at the block collection I have put together to play with in the two project files, the gold and the others.

WOW Sampler 1

There is a strong possibility that some of the applique block designs will be turned on point, and some may be modified to become border blocks, and some will be changed to give diagonal lines.

WOW Sampler 2

I have already made some changes to the lot above.

WOW Sampler 3

 

I started with nearly 400 blocks in the scrapbook, but most of them were too busy … too many shapes disappeared when the applique became just one colour and the designs became a blob.

Pieced blocks had to be very simple blocks to work in just two fabrics so I deleted all of them as I wanted enough shapes in each block to maintain an overall lacy look. After all, it was the lacy look which started all of this!

The collection was reduced to about 40, then grew with the variations to 60. That is more than enough to play with!

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Quilt and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to White on Dark Sampler 1, 2 , 3 and 4, plus the blocks

  1. For a lacy look…I’m really lovin’ that second blue design!

    Like

    • Laura,

      I was branching out in a whole new direction, so stopped … for now. May get back to it one day as I have quite a few block designs based on cast iron lace work on old buildings.

      Judy B

      On 27 January 2015 at 15:18, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

  2. Eileen says:

    I love these. You’ve given EQ designs an entirely new look. Thanks, as always, for the inspiration.

    Like

    • Eileen,

      Thank you … to be honest I am still surprising myself!

      Now if only I could think of a quick and easy technique to make one! The list of quilts to do with marks next to them to indicate they must be done this year doesn’t have room for a lot of experimenting with new designs.

      Judy B

      On 27 January 2015 at 21:51, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

  3. averyclaire says:

    I really LOVE all the ones with one color and then white applique…GORGEOUS!!

    Like

    • Averyclaire,

      Thank you … I am enjoying playing with minimal colours to play with! I am looking at simpler blocks and thinking that they are more interesting than I thought they were.

      Judy B

      On 28 January 2015 at 13:35, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

  4. Marie says:

    I love the first design. I’m normally prefer greens for some reason, but I like that blue one. I’m with you on the outdoor sky bit, this time the blue appeals. (and it’s applique!) You really have so many choices on the applique or quilting ideas.

    Like

  5. These are stunning. I too like the blue one. I can hardly wait to see all the designs these blocks will bring out of your creative mind! I think we are all in for an exciting “tour” with you as the tour guide!

    Like

  6. I think my favourite is the dark red design.

    Like

Comments are closed.