Textile Inspirations 2

Textile Inspirations 2

The block designs were drawn in EQ5, while I was inspired by some old textile designs, and as I was drawing them I had to try them out in some quilt designs.

Textile Inspirations 3

This was a mistake … but I love it!

I created the block and saved it before adding any colour apart from the background fabric, made a slight change then added fabrics. The ‘white’ version stayed into the scrapbook along with the slightly improved with fabric added version, and I clicked on it by mistake when I was adding a block to a quilt layout while holding down the control key. If it had the outlines turned on when I did it I would have just found the colour version and forgot about it, but love the lacy look!

I think I should try saving white versions on just a background fabric again!

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Quilt and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Textile Inspirations 2

  1. Wow! I love both of these designs, Judy! I wonder if the white/beige is too busy to serve as a background for applique?

    Like

    • Laura,

      Interesting thought. Thank you!

      My first impression when I did it was that it would be lovely wrapping paper, or background for a photo … scrap booking virtually! Lots of possibilities.

      Judy B

      On 25 January 2015 at 12:54, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

      • Yes…I thought the same thing. Lots of possibilities indeed! I can even see some William Morris inspiration coming from this idea!

        Like

        • Laura,

          Some of the William Morris shapes and vines would look great without colour. The shape I made the mistake originally was inspired by William Morris, but I have been and will continue playing with designs unrelated to William Morris. Interesting results.

          Judy B

          On 25 January 2015 at 15:58, Virtual Quilter wrote:

          >

          Like

  2. cindythequilter says:

    I really love the vines on the first one. Gorgeous design.

    Like

  3. averyclaire says:

    These are both fantastic designs. What fabulous work you are doing! Love love love those last “quilted” designs you have been creating. Lots of work I am sure.

    Like

    • Averyclaire,

      I am having lots of virtual fun at the moment … even when I make mistakes! The quilting designs are coming easier and more quickly with some concentrated practice … even more quickly than machine quilting sometimes!

      Judy B

      On 25 January 2015 at 14:30, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

  4. Marie says:

    The first design is stunning. Even the second one has great potential for mix and match, reversal colours, it’s endless. As always great inspiration, thanks Judy.

    Like

  5. Pingback: White on White Gold 1, 2, 3 and 4 | Virtual Quilter

  6. Pingback: White on Dark Sampler 1, 2 , 3 and 4, plus the blocks | Virtual Quilter

Comments are closed.