Anna Pavlova 18

Anna Pavlova 18

The virtual quilt top.

Anna Pavlova 18. Quilting Design

The virtual quilt design to fill in around the applique outlines.

Anna Pavlova 18 Quiling marked

The markings in place.

You can see that I have used the block designs as quilting designs, even filling in parts of the block design which I left out at the applique stage, as well as using the frame around the centre block as a quilted frame for a lot of the blocks in the design as well as the border.

Anna Pavlova 18 Quilted

The real deal finished would look more like this!

This is not the only way this design could be quilted, and there are some things I would change, but I would keep a lot of the quilted frames, particularly around the outer border.

For most of my life I have had to try to explain the plans I have had in my head when people have asked me what I am doing, while others just pulled out the book, magazine or pattern for the project they were making.

Now I can show you a plan with colour pictures for a quilt I will never make … which is just like the quilts in the books, magazines and patterns as I won’t be making them either.

A little story ….

As I usually do at a quilt sewing get together I was wandering around looking at what people were doing, and chatting about the world in general and discussing which thread or fabric should go where.

One of the girls had just done a wander around of her own, getting to my spot after I had moved away, and she arrived back at her table just as I arrived there and she asked me about the project I was quilting.

I tried to explain that I was working on my own design and had produced the pattern for it, which she could purchase from me if she wanted too, after I finished the quilt and took a photo to put on the front of the packet, She spent the next ten minutes trying to tell me that I wasn’t allowed to publish a pattern because that was breaking copyright, and had no understanding that as the designer I was the owner of the copyright.

After all, I had a pretty picture (because it was designed in EQ), and she couldn’t comprehend that the picture I had printed from Electric Quilt was all designed and printed from my computer before the project was started.

I learned that day that some people have no concept of designing or copyright.

I also learned that the patience I have when making quilts is not replicated in trying to explain copyright to someone who is not prepared to listen … but I did show restraint and didn’t use any of the sharp objects in the room to damage any property or any body!

PS

Yesterday I was cutting some threads and being a woman and able to do two things at once I also cut my finger with one variety of the sharp objects. Didn’t bleed on the project though, not that would have been too heartbreaking as I was making grocery shopping bags from old curtains, lined with old sheets.

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Anna Pavlova and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Anna Pavlova 18

  1. cindythequilter says:

    LOL That is hilarious. You really don’t have to make the quilt to sell the pattern though. I would buy them even you hadn’t made them. I love your designs and especially your log cabins. Must commend you on your restraint in regards to the sharp items!!!

    Like

    • Cindy,

      It was hard to believe what I was hearing, at first I was thought she was joking, but after a while it was obvious that she wasn’t joking!

      Judy B

      On 26 January 2015 at 15:11, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

  2. cindythequilter says:

    I think her main problem was not actually “listening” to what you were saying about BEING the designer. Some people only hear what they want.

    Like

  3. Poor you Judy! I had one at Ardingly Quilt Show over the weekend when I was working on The Quilters’ Guild stand. I had produced a pattern for a pincushion for people to make for our tombola at our AGM this year (fund raising). “I’ll just copy that for my group!” she said – TO ME!!!! I told her that I owned the copyright and while I was happy for her to show her group how to make the item, she could not give them the pattern! At least she understood that part of it! You were very restrained at the time I think! Hope the cut has healed by now!

    Like

    • Jan,

      More and more quilters are becoming more aware of copyright and so help protect the interests of designers, but their are some that need to be reminded firmly and often to get the message through!

      And the cut is only just visible … it was small but deep and so has healed quickly! (I had to peer over the top of my glasses to see if the mark was still visible!)

      Judy B

      On 27 January 2015 at 20:20, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

Comments are closed.