Log Cabin Baby Blocks 16, 17, 18, 19 and 20

Log Cabin Baby Blocks 16

I didn’t expect to find many variations using this layout … but have nearly 50 and I haven’t starting playing with the colours within the blocks yet!

Log Cabin Baby Blocks 17

Love the way the outer strip disappears into the background!

Log Cabin Baby Blocks 18

Apart from using just a distorted Log Cabin block squeezed into a diamond shape I have used tow triangular blocks in some designs. These blocks are constructed the same way as a square Log Cabin block, but start with a triangle.

Log Cabin Baby Blocks 19

Any shape can be used in the centre, including rectangles, hexagons and octagon. If it has more than two sides it is fair game to be used as the centre of a Log Cabin style block.

They don’t even have to have equals sides, but it is easier to put them together if they have!

Log Cabin Baby Blocks 20

Now that I have written that down I can see that I may have to experiments some more with odd-shaped Log Cabin style blocks!

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Log Cabin Baby Blocks, Log Cabin Quilter's Mid Week Retreat and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Log Cabin Baby Blocks 16, 17, 18, 19 and 20

  1. I am not sure if it is the colors or the blocks, but I really like these!

    Like

  2. Judy, you are turning me into a log cabin fan. Love these designs!

    Like

    • Laura,

      My ambition is to convert you to being a Log Cabin fan … along with getting Marie to do more applique!

      I admit that I have never made a Log Cabin quilt all by myself, but have made blocks and helped when a group or two made Log Cabin quilts for raffles.

      Judy B

      On 21 January 2015 at 14:07, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

      • Surprising! I would have thought you had made several log cabin quilts. To me, you are the Queen of Log Cabin Design. 🙂

        Like

        • Laura,

          Log Cabin is one area where my blog name is pretty much the truth, the whole truth … but made blocks in my beginners sampler class and a few others to go in other sampler quilts, along with helping with charity quilts.

          Now i am overwhelmed by the possibilities and would have a hard time picking just one design and sticking to it. I designed a mystery quilt a few years ago, and finished up with 25 different layouts for the one set of 25 blocks.

          Judy B

          On 21 January 2015 at 22:44, Virtual Quilter wrote:

          >

          Like

  3. Marie says:

    I love how the lights and darks have given the Baby Blocks effect in parts of the design. I did a workshop years ago and it was called “See Thru’ Cubes” It has the Baby Blocks design and at a push, incorporates Log Cabin. I’ll bring it to the Retreat to show you if you would like. Did I tell you I started a quilt ages ago, called “Southern Gentleman”. Are you sitting down? It’s all applique! There’s hope for me yet, LOL

    Like

    • Marie,

      Was that workshop with Lessa Seigele? Wonder if I could make the blocks more like log cabin and still get that effect …. nah, not going there. If it was Lessa’s workshop I don’t think I could improve on that design.

      Yes I would like to see that quilt at retreat, but I want to see the applique too! And yes, I always sit at the computer, thankfully. Reading a comment from you about doing applique could have had dire consequences if I hadn’t been sitting … particularly as I had only had half of my first coffee for the day!

      Judy B

      On 22 January 2015 at 06:37, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

  4. Marie says:

    LOL, re applique quilt. Actually as far as I recall, the workshop was from one of our quilting group members. And sorry, it’s not a quilt, only a wall hanging, about 2 feet square, and I will bring them both to the Retreat.

    Like

  5. cindythequilter says:

    Oh would I love to come to a retreat with you girls! It sounds like so much fun! I adore these designs and especially like #2, 3, and 4. Although to tell you the truth all of them appeal to me. Of course you know that the log cabin is my favorite pattern anyway.

    Like

    • Cindy,

      It is fun, loud, busy, rowdy, and we even get a few stitches done, though not guaranteed! It is the only time I get to see Marie, so we have a lot of catching up to do!

      Judy B

      On 26 January 2015 at 01:56, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

Comments are closed.