Virtual Wholecloth Sirius 1, 2 and 3

Virtual Wholecloth Sirius 1

A little bit less contrast after the last quilt!

I am starting to feel a bit more confident finding my way around the quilting layer in Electric Quilt.

I have limited number of pretty designs as I am concentrating on getting background fillers into the library, and then I will add more pretty bits later.

Luckily for me I prefer simple fillers unless there is a huge expanse of blank space to be filled, so I am working on the easiest ways to make the filler fit around the pieced and applique design rather than just flow all over it.

Virtual Wholecloth Sirius 2

I have also set up the layout on the quilting layer to match the pieced and applique layer perfectly. Now I have to keep that in mind when I am working in real quilts, as any fudging with the patchwork will mean I have to fudge again when I get to the quilting!

Virtual Wholecloth Sirius 3

 

As the Virtual Quilter I now have to work out how much contrast to have between the fabric and the quilting thread for it to show on computer screens.

I like the grey and cream combination … it is not really easy to see, but then neither is quilting on a real quilt unless it is done in a high contrast thread. What I want to share is the effect of the shadows created by the lines of quilting rather than the stitching, which is what we see when we look at a quilt in real life.

I think the quilting designs above show up better than most photos of while cloth quilts, even those with a much higher level of contrast between thread and fabric. I haven’t used plain white background to cut the glare which we get from the white screen, but I may have gone too far.

If you can’t see these I will have to make the contrast stronger, with lighter fabric or darker thread!

Virtual Wholecloth Sirius 3b

More like this one … the thread didn’t fade, but the fabric did!

Glad that was only a virtual wash!

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Quilt and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Virtual Wholecloth Sirius 1, 2 and 3

  1. I really like version 2, and when I click on the photo (to see an enlarged photo), I can see the entire quilt very well.

    Like

  2. cindythequilter says:

    I like the grey and cream combination and find it easy to see. I think a lot of it depends on each person’s computer and their contrast and brightness settings as well. (Part of it is whether I am wearing my glasses tri-focals or not LOL ) No seriously I think we can see them okay. I love your designs. The second one is really nice.

    Like

    • Cindy,

      Thank you … I really appreciate knowing that they are visible to others. I have seen some of my designs on other computers and they look totally different in colour. Thankfully the designs stood up to the change of colour!

      Judy B

      On 19 January 2015 at 02:16, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

Comments are closed.