Virtual Wholecloth Quilt 1, 2 and 3

Virtual Wholecloth Quilt 1

I have really started something!

I have been fiddling with the quilting layer in Electric Quilt for years, but much prefer the real thing, which usually involves making up the design as I go along.

I quilt around the shapes of the applique and piecing, then fill in details and open spaces in real quilts, and I have decided I should really learn to do that in virtual quilts. I am working on wholecloth quilts because I keep getting distracted by the patchwork and applique in virtual designs, and have not taken the time to really master the quilting layer.

Virtual Wholecloth Quilt 2

I am starting with a small collection of blocks with background filler, but haven’t progressed very far at all with the borders …

Virtual Wholecloth Quilt 3

 

… so most of the borders at this time look like the one above!

I also have to remember not to have anymore than one reel of virtual thread at hand when I am virtually quilting too!

So, I am going to find out what my style of quilting a pieced and applique quilt will look like as a whole cloth quilt … then maybe I will add the quilting to more virtual designs!

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Quilt and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Virtual Wholecloth Quilt 1, 2 and 3

  1. cindythequilter says:

    Looks like you are well on your way to mastering this. It would be wonderful way to preview quilting designs for a special heirloom quilt. I have always loved wholecloth quilts but have yet to tackle one.

    Like

    • Cindy,

      It would be a wonderful way to preview a quilting design, or three or four of them, on any pieced or applique quilt as well, specially any open spaces.

      I have used EQ for just one quilting design on a real quilt, and only changed it a tiny bit when I did the actual quilting, and that was a bit I didn’t take time to work out how to draft in EQ what I was thinking of doing! I admit to not being good at following instructions!

      Judy B

      On 13 January 2015 at 03:03, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

Comments are closed.