Before Pompeii 1 and 2

Before Pompeii 1

 

Right next to the project file I discovered yesterday was another with a few quilt designs, and many details which need a makeover. Look at the inner border of circles, particularly the corners. Nice corner block, but doesn’t fit with the other blocks in the border.

Before Pompeii 2

 

Now look again!

The coffee is doing a good job this morning.

I think I will have another one … I might be able to save the world today!

Or at least try these new corners in the After Pompeii project file.

********************************

I played with the project file I used yesterday and noticed the difference in the way the fabrics looked in small blocks … 6 inch … compared to 12 inch blocks, and tried saving a block as a 6 inch picture file ….

Textiles and Peacocks 6 inch

… then a 12 inch picture file.

Textiles and Peacocks 12 inch b

This might be important when saving picture files for pattern sheets, but it is also important in real quilts. The scale of the fabric print has to fit the size of the block you are making.  I am quite happy with the way these fabrics work in the two sizes of the block design, but I would probably look for slightly different fabric for the smaller version.

Fabric pattern details are not as dominant in the larger block, which means the block design is what we see rather than be distracted by the fabrics in a smaller block.

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Quilt and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Before Pompeii 1 and 2

  1. birdnana14425 says:

    Thank you for explaining the differences. Didn’t really notice till you pointed it out….Boy do I have a lot to learn…. Thanks for helping…. Hugs

    Like

    • Carol,

      In such small scale as they are on our computer screens the designs look quite good, but when I view things in detail sometimes it is amazing what I notice. I once made a miniature … not a very complicated one, but even though I prefer small scale and muted fabrics with just one focal fabric in a quilt, I had to spend quite some time sorting through scraps to find a handful to put together. Decided miniatures were not for me … not enough room to fudge anything!

      Judy B

      On 9 January 2015 at 12:33, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

  2. cindythequilter says:

    I rather liked the corners in the first one and wondered why you felt they didn’t “fit” but when I saw the adjustment it made perfect sense. Coffee is such a wonderful beverage! I really like the explanation about scale in fabric print making such a difference depending on the block size. I had not thought of that before. I too have a LOT to learn!

    Like

    • Cindy,

      I believe that there is no life before coffee on any day of the year!

      Another project file has been tidied up! Give me enough coffee and enough years I will have a wonderful collection of near perfect blocks!

      Judy B

      On 10 January 2015 at 00:16, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

Comments are closed.