9 patch’n’Apps 7×7 3 and 3

9 patch'n'Apps 7x7 3

I like it … in particular the washed out blocks around the outside which create not quite empty space. That not quite empty space has the advantage of some indication of a quilting design rather than just open space.

9 patch'n'Apps 7x7 4

 

I also like this one … because it has some open space which can be filled in with whatever quilting design I choose on the day I start quilting, virtually or for real!

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in 9 Patch 'n' Apps and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 9 patch’n’Apps 7×7 3 and 3

  1. I like the first one the best.

    Like

  2. cindythequilter says:

    I like the first one the best too. It definitely has to do with the “washed out” as you call them background blocks. Really add interest but do not distract from the centre.

    Like

    • Cindy,

      With strong contrast elsewhere I like the softer contrast as a place to rest my eyes … and the empty spaces look a bit stark. They would look less start with quilting creating a little light and shadow, but even then a little bit of contrast is effective … similar to the effect of using a tone on tone print instead of a plain fabric for backgrounds.

      Judy B

      On 6 January 2015 at 10:41, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

Comments are closed.