Less Logs in the Cabin 16, 17, 18, 19 and 20

Less Logs in the Cabin 16

Less strips in a Log Cabin block could make smaller blocks, or big quilts more quickly using wider strips.

Less Logs in the Cabin 17

However, I was a bit doubtful about how effective the designs might be … but I am finding that the designs themselves are fine, and I found some different ways to use the light and dark shading in the blocks too.

Less Logs in the Cabin 18

I rather like the border effect created with just one strip of dark added to an otherwise all light block.

Less Logs in the Cabin 19

I am going to have to add that modification to some of the Log Cabin series which use four rounds of strips around the centre.

Less Logs in the Cabin 20

A challenge for you … if you are making a Log Cabin quilt in the new year, don’t make one of the traditional favourite designs … there must be billions of ways to use Log Cabin blocks in a quilt, and I intend showing you a few every week, in the middle of the week.

I have shared nearly 1,500 designs, including quite a few with all identical blocks in the traditional half light/half dark … Might have to plan a longer mid-week retreat to mark that milestone in just a couple of weeks time!

I like the second one best of today’s selection.

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Less Logs in the Cabin, Log Cabin Quilter's Mid Week Retreat, Mid Week Retreat and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Less Logs in the Cabin 16, 17, 18, 19 and 20

  1. Karen says:

    Love the colour palette and it would be the third one for me. Really like the broken border that you have created.

    Like

    • Karen,

      Thank you … the broken border was unexpected, but I liked it enough to keep it and share it! One of the reasons I love playing in EQ … things don’t always turn out like I think they will … but it is good!

      Judy B

      On 31 December 2014 at 12:15, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

  2. cindythequilter says:

    I like this new variation. I like the third and fourth the best. I agree with Karen about the broken border look. Really nice!

    Like

  3. Marie says:

    I like them all this time. Love the border effect, just by changing the colour. Clever, aren’t you!

    Like

Comments are closed.