String of Beads Roundabout 19 and 20 plus 2014 in review

String of Beads Roundabout 19

A big piece of background fabric, and a lot of colorful scraps.

String of Beads Roundabout 20

One of my achievements this year was to redraw a lot of blocks in Electric Quilt.

I started using EQ5 when I had a large collection of block designs scribbled on paper … and wanted them in My EQ Library as quickly as possible. I was learning quickly, too quickly to bother going back and doing a design again to make a more accurate pattern. Until this year the majority of my most accurate pattern were hand drawn sheets. The only ones which came out of EQ were the ones I drew specifically for a real fabric project or a pattern to share.

There are still a multitude of badly drawn blocks in my EQ library, but I am proud to say that over half of my library has been checked for accuracy.

The String of Beads designs were some of the worst drawn, but now I have tidied them up so that most of the blocks have the beads placed accurately, the beads are not distorted (though I haven’t quite worked out how I distorted them in the first place) and the designs which are meant to meet at block edges and corners, with maybe an overlapping bead or two, do so accurately.

I don’t think I will ever go back through quilt designs and tidy them all up with the new blocks, but if I want to use or share one of them I have the block designs ready to go. Nice feeling … which will be even nicer if I stick to checking and redrawing where required until they are all done.

(My main distraction is adding to the block design collection as I go!)

So, many of the quilt designs I will continue to share have a multitude of faults, but I know I could fix them so they are usable!

*********************

The WordPress.com stats helper monkeys prepared a 2014 annual report for this blog.

Here’s an excerpt:

The concert hall at the Sydney Opera House holds 2,700 people. This blog was viewed about 33,000 times in 2014. If it were a concert at Sydney Opera House, it would take about 12 sold-out performances for that many people to see it.

That makes me feel like a super star!

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in String of Beads, String of Beads Roundabout and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to String of Beads Roundabout 19 and 20 plus 2014 in review

  1. QED Judy – you are a superstar in our world!

    Like

  2. cindythequilter says:

    I agree with allstontowers. You definitely are a superstar! I am always excited to see the new quilts and variations of quilts each day. I may not always have time to comment and sometimes I have to save them and look at them on my days off but I love them and I thank you for the chance to enjoy all your hard work. All the best to you in 2015!!!

    Like

Comments are closed.