Toys 4 Christmas 41

Toys 4 Christmas 41

Christmas play mat here in Australia, Christmas cuddle rug the other side of the equator.

I use toys as part of out Christmas decor … but I am wondering how many children would recognize many of them … old fashioned wooden spinning tops, cars and trains that need to be pushed or pulled around, wooden blocks which don’t lock together and fall over when you bump a tower you have just constructed … not to mention a little china tea set which doesn’t come with a coffee machine! No electronic gadgets allowed … well not until the parcels are opened on December 25th.

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Toys for Christmas and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Toys 4 Christmas 41

  1. catdownunder says:

    My father made a little maypole-carousel with cars on it one year. He gave it to a small boy who spent a long time twirling it around. Each time it stopped moving the child would look underneath it in a puzzled sort of way. He finally came up to my father and asked, “Where are the batteries?”

    Like

    • Cat,

      Wonderful! And sad that children are growing up without the wonder of being able to do things without the power of batteries. Even wind up toys have pretty much disappeared. I hope that future generations will keep on quilting and knitting so they don’t forget the skills we can do using just our hands and some simple tools.

      Says she who has a job lined up for the man of this house … using a power tool rather than a hand saw!

      Judy B

      On 6 December 2014 at 16:17, Virtual Quilter wrote:

      >

      Like

Comments are closed.