Traditions for Christmas 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 and 8

Traditions for Christmas 1

I have a virtual friend, Vicki Welsh, who dyes her own fabric, and sells them too, and sometimes she shares virtual fabric in Electric Quilt project files. I downloaded the Traditions project file some time ago from Vicki’s blog

I started playing with the project file  yesterday during a break.

I selected one block in the design above…

Traditions for Christmas 2

… then another …

Traditions for Christmas 3

… then mixed them together.

Traditions for Christmas 4

Then I noticed that Vicki had added some blocks in the project file so I added the stars.

Traditions for Christmas 5

Then I noticed that there was a theme developing … I was surrounded by a forest of Christmas trees which had made their escape from the cupboard where they live for ten or more months of the year … and Vicki had left a tree block in the file.

Traditions for Christmas 6

Vicki also left a decoration for the tree in the block sketchbook.

Traditions for Christmas 7

So what is a girl to do?

Traditions for Christmas 8

Create the first Christmas theme quilts for 2013.

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Christmas and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Traditions for Christmas 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 and 8

  1. Kat Scribner says:

    What a great spash that hand dyed fabric import mades to the designs. I like them all, so cheerful.

    Like

    • They are cheerful … when I started playing with the colours I wasn’t thinking about Christmas colours, but it all fell in that direction … and I was happy to introduce some Christmas cheer!

      Judy B

      Like

  2. BillieBee says:

    Love them all!!

    Like

  3. Cindy Hamilton says:

    What beautiful fabric. What fun to play with and I bet they are even more fun to work with. Love your designs which highlight the fabric colors.

    Like

    • Cindy,

      They are beautiful colours, and she does a huge range of colours.

      My next challenge will be to use other colours in the ranges rather than just the ones which attract me first!

      Judy B

      Like

  4. Jan Foster says:

    Clever thing….esp. love the top one…. does your fabric dyeing friend have a site?

    Like

  5. catdownunder says:

    Like hand dyed yarn the slight variations within the colour add a great depth to the designs!
    Purr-fect!

    Like

    • Cat,

      Exactly! Unfortunately that slight variation is on a very regimented repeat in the digitized virtual world, but because the pieces are pretty small the effect is pretty good.

      Judy B

      Like

  6. Vicki W says:

    These are awesome!

    Like

Comments are closed.