Electric Quilt Dozen Sampler Quilt

sampler-blocks

This sampler quilt is a random arrangement of a random selection of blocks from the Eletric Quilt Block Library. I usually don’t look outside my own libraries for blocks to play with, as there are plenty there.

Not that there is anything wrong with the ones in the EQ library, they just aren’t my designs. I love some of the EQ blocks to death as they include a lot of my favourite traditional blocks, and have pulled many of them apart and put them back together again my way. (The best way to learn how to draw applique blocks is to do just that, pull apart the ones in the library, and put them back together again.)

I follow some blogs where people working with textiles challenge themselves with the question ‘What if..?

I have often asked myself the same question, sometimes when making dolls, or bears, or designing a quilt. My work is pretty traditional in style, but I find plenty of room to ask the question without stepping out of the style I like to live with, and work with.

This has led me to designing every thing I have made over the last ten years, and much of what I made before that. Even when most of the sewing I was doing was making basic clothes for me and the kids, I often thought ‘What if ….’ the buttons are replaced with a zip, the sleeves are wider, shorter, etc.

Being short of cash meant I couldn’t always afford the pattern I wanted to make up, or the materials to make it with, so I would work out how to use what I had on hand, or could afford to buy, to get the effect I wanted. Clothes, dolls, bears, Christmas decorations and, of course, quilts of all sizes all got the ‘What if’ treatment. I should mention that it wasn’t always kind treatment, but I learned something everytime I tried something.

But what if I limit myself to designing quilts with blocks from the Electric Quilt library. What if I set some limits, because I can not spend all day every day for the rest of my life doing this. Remember, I have all of those original blocks to play with as well.

What if I select a dozen of them, sort of at random, from the Electric Quilt block library, and see what happens? What if I try to avoid the most common blocks, like Nine Patch and Monkey Wrench, and use both pieced and applique blocks? What if I am only allowed to alter just one of those blocks, and I decide this after I have designed a border corner from one of the blocks!

And what if I limit myself to the same borders, and just a couple of fabric changes. And what if I limit myself to just a straight layout, either 5 x 5 blocks, or 7 x 7 blocks.

Anyone with EQ6 can find the blocks and most of the fabrics (the paisley was a monthly download from Electric Quilt I think) or I can send you a copy of the file containing just the handful of fabrics, the twelve blocks and one ‘changed’ block, and the sampler quilt shown below. Just leave a message asking nicely and I will send it in the next couple of days, but only until the end of the month. After that you will have to do the search, or just watch what I have done!

You could also start your own EQ 12, by selecting 12 blocks and about the same number of fabrics, and using them in any way you can think of in a a quilt layout of your choice.

sampler-1

I have 110 quilts in the project file, but I won’t put them all up one after the other, I will limit it to one or two a week. First instalment tomorrow.

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in EQ Dozen, Free EQ6 Project File, Pieced and Applique Quilt and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Electric Quilt Dozen Sampler Quilt

  1. tattingchic says:

    These designs are intriguing! I like the one on the bottom is my favorite.

    Like

  2. Pingback: EQ Blog » Blog Archive » Virtual Quilter

  3. virtualquilter says:

    EQ Blog,
    Thank you very , very much for the mention.
    In case you haven’t noticed, I love your product!
    Judy B

    Like

  4. Lynn says:

    Yes, the What If springboard is the basis for experimentation and it is a motivator for quite a few of us.

    Like

  5. Bertha says:

    Hi Judy,
    I just found your blog thru the EQ blog. I would love a copy of this file to see how I can improve my designing. I have looked at several of the previous posts and your quilt are beautiful.
    Thanks, Bertha

    Like

  6. Joan says:

    This is the first time I have been to your blog and it is wonderful. I would also like to have a copy of this file.
    I am taking EQ6 classes thru Quilt U and trying to learn to about EQ6’s capabilities.

    Thanks,
    Joan

    Like

  7. Pingback: EQ Dozen 45, 46, 47, 48, 49 and 50 « Virtual Quilter

  8. Pingback: EQ Dozen 53 « Virtual Quilter

  9. Pingback: EQ Dozen 56 | Virtual Quilter

  10. Pingback: EQ Dozen 57 | Virtual Quilter

  11. deborah andrews says:

    i really enjoy your work. can you send send me the file

    Like

  12. Pingback: EQ Dozen 71 | Virtual Quilter

  13. Pingback: EQ Dozen 72 | Virtual Quilter

Comments are closed.