Fiddlebobs 1 and 2

Fiddlebobs 1

Technically, these are numbers 4 and 5 … I used three designs in 2008, here and here, then retired the project file. A few days ago I found it when I was looking for something else and started playing … as you do … saved it into a new project file, then divided that file into two project files, one for designs with the blocks set straight, one for blocks set on point.

Fiddlebobs 2

So today here are the first two designs with blocks set on the straight.

Hmm! I seem to be using a lot of soft pink and pretty fabrics recently … I made several quilts in these sorts of colours when I started making quilts in the mid 1980s, and obviously still like them.

(How last century is that!)

I wonder how many other project files could be opened up again?

About Judy B

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Applique, Applique Quilt, Fiddlebobs and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Fiddlebobs 1 and 2

  1. justpurrfick says:

    Softer colouring makes it more quilt like and scrunchable hugable. Really like the on point layout.

  2. lcarolyn says:

    Is the saying “what goes around comes around”?! Well the soft pinks are yours….coming back around…and I approve wholeheartedly!

    • Not only colours come back … many ‘modern’ fabric designs look like they are remnants from the 70s, and how often in my life time will shoes be the in thing only if they have wedges?

      Judy B

  3. I am no fan of pink, but these designs are really lovely! It is also very clever how the straight set looks like it is on point with the placement of the applique in the corners of the blocks. I love the technique!

    • Laura,

      I have drawn up a lot of original block designs, and very soon after I start playing with them I rotate the design 45 degrees and then often turn some elements inside out. Sometimes the alternate version is better than the original.

  4. Yes, I,m loving those soft colours too…very delicate and feminine designs…..

    • Kay,

      Sounds like there is a gentle movement away from the modern designs which on the whole are much harsher! Even around the house I am looking at the timber and heritage green bits and tinking at least some of them should be whitish!

      Judy B

Comments are closed.