Fans and Blossom Border 7 and 8

Laura commented on the design yesterday saying it is a really lovely Asian design.

I thought I should show the real quilts some of these blocks were used in … so you get to see another of the virtual designs.

The two real quilts using these designs are …

Sampler from Down Under

and

Fans for Midori

While searching for photos for the real quilts I also had a play with the virtual designs and added a few more to the project file, so I think I can share another one today.

I like this layout, but the colouring is better in the first one.

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Fans and Blossom Borders and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Fans and Blossom Border 7 and 8

  1. Both very attractive designs.

  2. Laura says:

    I like the layout in the second one too!
    And thank you for sharing the real-life quilts! What fun to see them! I don’t know why, but I didn’t picture you as an applique kind of gal (except virtually), but Fans of Midori is full of beautitul applique. I love the story about using the masts for a quilt frame! Love how you keep a quilt diary…what a great reference and history!

    • Laura,

      I am definitely an applique girl … and I also enjoy piecing curves, set in corners etc by hand … I get bored by quick machine piecing. I don’t enjoy the fast furious pace of sewing straight seams, unless I need a quilt very quickly. Fiddly bits by machine I avoid at all costs! I have no patience for machine work! If I use machine I expect the machine to have two speeds … stop and flat out, and the flat out phase doesn’t lead to accuracy at all times!

      A line I have repeated over and over about quilting … Machine sewing means more mistakes more quickly … and hand stitching is much quicker to unpick.

      In my sampler course hand work comes before machine work, because I think it is the best way to understand how pieces go together to make blocks. Learn to hand piece about three blocks and most people can work out for themselves how to put together just about anything! Most go on to mostly machine work, but they can work stuff out for themselves to make it easier than some patterns indicate. I am proud of my girls being able to do that.

      Applique has always been the best bit for me … and I have no one favourite method. Seam allowances turned under, always by hand, fused sometimes machined. Quilting by hand definitely prefered, but will happily mix hand and machine if I want some areas densely quilted. The freedom to represent pretty much anything in applique is a wonderful way to add personal details to any quilt.

      As for the story of the masts, I find that every quilt has it’s own story, including the things which happen while it is being made. I had never written down that Fans for Midori was the quilt the masts were needed for, but thought about it while I was preparing the story for Stuff-Ups, and so it is only written on the net … must go write a note on the pages of the diary.

      Judy B

      http://virtualquilter.wordpress.com http://stuffups.wordpress.com http://virtualquiltsrealcomfort.wordpress.com

  3. Laura says:

    I love your approach…all quilters should learn to appreciate hand work. Traditional hand work is getting lost as more and more machine worked quilts are showcased in major quilt shows today. It is a shame, since the awesomeness of those quilts is rooted in the impressiveness of yesterday’s hand worked quilts. A well made hand worked two color quilt is a timeless beauty! (All of this spoken from a girl who loves her machine, as well as needle turn applique, and has yet, but wants to, make a two color quilt.)

Comments are closed.