Back to Basics 8

Wow! I like it.

All the blocks are in the Electric Quilt block libraries.

=============

Evan Wren Quilting

takes me back to the way I learned to make quilts … by hand, using scissors and pencils to mark and cut out pieces, then needle and thread to stitch them together.

It also reminds me of the polyester batting which was all I could find in country Australia at the time. Yuk!

I still love handwork, but not that early wadding!

About Judy B

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Back to Basics, Basic Brights, Electric Quilt Blocks and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Back to Basics 8

  1. serenapotter says:

    Yeah Not big on polyester myself ;) Thanks!

  2. Glynis says:

    I can only second about the polyester wadding. I hate it, it’s cheap and nasty and difficult to quilt because it doesn’t ‘cling’ to your fabrics. I’m quilting a quilt with poly wadding at the moment on my domestic machine for someone (not for money but because this woman is going through a rough patch and I volunteered. I’m trying to make a silk purse out of a sow’s ear). It was basted elsewhere and basic stitch in the ditch completed before it was handed over to me with several puckers on the the back – yuck.

    I did use poly wadding in my first quilt because a) I didn’t know any better and b) I couldn’t afford anything else. I’Il will say this though, the quality of that polyester wadding almost 17 years ago was much superior to what’s available now.

    • Glynis,

      There was one man made fibre which was lovely … used it for one quilt and it was beautiful to work with and is soft and warm in use. Never found it again.

      I haven’t looked at what is available now … just use wool or cotton, sometimes with poly, sometimes without. The quilts I made with polyester are still working well … like polyester fabrics. They are tough, but not as comfortable to wear or use.

      Judy B

Comments are closed.