Modified EQ Sampler

Select a block from the Electric Quilt Block Library, add your choice of fabric from The Electric Quilt Fabric Library, add some blue petals, then rotate 45 degrees.

You now have three blocks to play with instead of just one.

Another block … this time I have just rotated the original.

This time I have added a central circle removed a couple of leaves and reduced the length of the stems.

The leaves have been made bigger this time.

Another block has just been rotated.

Select a block, then mix some of the shapes from one of the previous blocks.

Keep mixing shapes and you have a selection of blocks which blend together …

It is a great way to practice playing with applique shapes in Electric Quilt.

I have already been playing with the block variations … and will show you some of the results over the weekend.

About Judy B

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Applique, Modified EQ Blocks and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Modified EQ Sampler

  1. Karen says:

    Love them for their simplicity an you can see that they could get quite complex.
    I finally manged to get my copy of eq7 onto the computer last night. I’ve only had it since it was first released. Wont be playing any time soon either.

    • Karen,

      Well done … it will be easier to have a look at any freebie project files which are available!

      Combining shapes from an assortment of blocks can create complex blocks … or not. Sometimes I delete part of a simple block and add only part of another simple block. Not often, mind you … i usualy make them more complex!

      Judy B

  2. Laura says:

    Judy, I really appreciate you sharing how simple it is to mix and match and come up with new combinations. Even the small changes have a big impact. Very easy, yet very cool.

    • Laura,

      My work here is done! I have always wanted to get someone to see how easy it is to design a new block from an old one! It is easy to do with pencil and paper too, but it is a lot easier to show off with Elelctric Quilt to make it all look pretty.

      Judy B

Comments are closed.