Autumn Daze 15

I see a wavy line around the centre diamond ….. but it is all an illusion created by using the same background fabric throughout the design, and not using sashing to separate the blocks.

Love this whole quilt!

Ruth has started series focusing on fibre on

Permutations in Fiber

Well worth reading if you are interested in design in anyway!

About Judy B

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in Applique, Autumn Daze, Patchwork, Quilt and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Autumn Daze 15

  1. catdownunder says:

    This is like the Victorian lattice work on one of the houses I lived in as a child – I had forgotten it until now!

  2. MarieB says:

    I like optical illusion’s in quilts. The design do the work for you. I wonder how that quilt would look like in one colour? Interesting…………

    • Marie,

      If the light, medium and dark fabrics are placed in the right places, the design will still work regardless of the colours! However, the mood of the design might change with different colours. A blue and grey combination could be gloomy, add a touch of whiite and it could be sophisticated, green and pink is usually feminine ….. but the optical illusion will still be there.

      Judy B

Comments are closed.