Virtual Secrets

Someone asked how I got those pointy bits in the outer border.

It might make more sense if you can see the seam lines, so here it is with the lines.

EDIT ……. sorry, it makes real sense if you can actually see the pictures. Some days I should quit while I am ahead!

I have used the same fabric background in adjoining pieces which gives some very different effects to a border or any other part of a quilt. The seam lines could be emphasised by quilting near the seam, or disguised by using a filler design to fill the whole background area.

It is a way of creating an optical illusion … without the magic!

Next time you wonder how I have created an effect try filling in a few grid lines over the design …. pretty much everything I show you is made up of blocks, some of them very familiar blocks, but by using the background fabric in adjacent pieces the edges of the blocks are disguised.

To draw it I selected ’tile on point’ from the border styles in Electric Quilt 6.

I then set this block into the square tiles, which are on point ……….

……………..then this one into the filler triangles, twisting it around until it was facing the way I wanted it to.

The only other trick to making this sort of thing work in real quilts is to use fabrics for the background which are going to disguise the seam ….. pink flowers on a green background are going to make the seam obvious to anyone who isn’t blind, unless you do a heap of fussy cutting! Stripes, checks, any fabric with strong design elements …… and plain fabrics …….. are not great either.

Muted prints, with two or three shades of the one colour in a smallish or indistinct print work best.

(I use a lot of Jinny Beyer basics by RJR fabrics and similar patterned fabric for my real quilts.)

So, the secret is out, so go create your own tricks!

About Virtual Quilter

I am a quilter who designs many more quilts than I will ever make, and I am sharing one quilt design every day in Virtual Quilter. I also share my completed projects in Stuff-Ups, and Christmas decorations in Christmas Everyday of the Year.
This entry was posted in EQ on Point, Fabric Choice, Patchwork, Quilt and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Virtual Secrets

  1. Donna says:

    Hi Judy – I was interested in what you were saying about the borders and points in the quilt. In both the blog feed and the website, the pictures of the quilts would not open. Could you please send the EQ file and I’ll re-read what you wrote. Thank you

  2. Judy

    This quilt has a great border. It has an art deco feel to it.

    • Wayne,

      The art deco feel was one of those happy accidents which happened when I was just playing around with some blocks intended for much more conventional use!

      Judy B

Comments are closed.